Ninja Book Swap

I came home today to two parcels on my front porch! Lucky me, both of my Ninja Book Swap parcels arrived at once!

IMAG0491

*this is not my front porch. I am not in the habit of leaving my laptop outdoors!*

First up was a nice thick envelope from Switzerland, courtesy of Simona over at Sky’s Book Corner – and can we take a minute to appreciate her gorgeous header? – which looked like this inside:

IMAG0492

So many goodies to unwrap! There was a super adorable postcard, a keychain of a dog in a little Swiss vest, a small notepad, some bookmarks, three markers in various shade of orange (my favourite colour), and my two books! One book is The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith, which I am SUPER excited to read. I love JK Rowling and I love British mysteries, so it’s kind of perfect. The other book is actually a book journal, which I can not wait to use! I track every book I read offline as well, using notebooks, and this one has all kinds of things you can fill out about each book. Now I need to read a whole bunch of books so I can finish my current notebook!

IMAG0493

The second package was from The Isle of Wight, courtesy of Katie at Katie Who Can Read.

IMAG0494

Look at that super cute wrapping paper! I feel so spoiled. Katie was my hometown swap partner, so her items all came from local shops on The Island, as I have now learned it is called. She sent me the Official Winter Pocket Guide, which I will read through and wish I was there, two books, a beautiful metal (tin, I believe) dog ornament, a magnet of the Island, a fabric bookmark, and a keychain with a speech bubble that says “yeah, I found them!” which is a great descriptor for what I say when I locate my keys! The two books are Robert Galbraith’s The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Silkworm. Now, I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking “but Sarah, you got The Cuckoo’s Calling twice!” And you’re right, I did. BUT that is actually brilliant, because my mother and I tend to trade books, especially mysteries, and for once, we won’t have to wait for the other to be done – we can read them at the same time!

IMAG0495

When I originally filled out the form for the Ninja Book Swap, I had to list a few things I liked and didn’t like – tea, bookmarks, etc. By the time these arrived, I had completely forgotten what I’d put, but looking over my goodies, I suspect I may have listed dogs. Which is totally accurate. In fact, to end this post, I will share with you one of my favourite pictures of my own dog, Mollie the Mooster.

Nepean 012

Moo is unsure about my choices in feminist cyberpunk literature.

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ninja Book Swap

  1. Glad it arrived safely! So happy you like everything, enjoy 🙂 x

    Like

  2. Katie says:

    Yay, you got it! Glad you liked the presents, even if we both had the same idea for books (oops!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

