TBR To-Go

I did say these posts would be on Tuesdays, but I also put the word “theoretical” right there at the top, so here’s your Tuesday post on Friday!

I’ve not given up on my man Pepys, but he’s been put aside for now. He’s best consumed in bite-sized quantities anyhow, I feel.

Today I had myself a little mini-readathon, and I finished three short (~150pg) books.

In terms of actual TBR, here’s where I stand for the week of March 3 2015.

The Flamingo’s Smile by Stephen Jay Gould

Progress: 67/450p.

Thoughts: This is going to be a slow slog, I can already tell. I’m not the most science-oriented person and even though he writes for the layman, there’s still a lot I need to stop and look up.

The Company of the Dead by David Kowalski

Progress: 87p/750p.

Thoughts: This is a beast of a book, but so far I am really enjoying it. I love alternate history and speculative fiction, and this takes place in a world where the Titanic sank *differently* – different survivors lead to different political choices lead to a present-day where the USA is once again split into Union and Confederate, Japan controls the West Coast, and Germany did not lose the Great War.

I’m also spending some time today with The Sabbath by Abraham Joshua Heschel. This book’s been on my TBR for quite some time, and the Friday before my bubbe and zaide’s yahrtzeit seemed the right day to pick it up.

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

