Top Ten Tuesday – Recently Added TBRs

This my first time joining up with The Broke and the Bookish for Top Ten Tuesday!

toptentuesday

Today, they want to know the Top Ten Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List.

My most recently added books have been covered in some mini-book haul posts, so I will post books that I added to my list in January. Back at the end of January, I had the extreme luck to volunteer at the Ontario Library Association’s annual Superconference in Toronto. Volunteering for a shift brings with it free admittance to the entire conference, which meant I got to sit in fascinating panels, attend a live Welcome to Night Vale show, and walk the floor of the expo, where publishers were giving away books – both published and ARCs!

So here are 10 of the books I picked up in Toronto that I am super excited about – the ones with stars are books that I was able to get signed by the author!

*1. The Great Escape: A Canadian Story by Ted Barris tells the incredible true story of 80 airmen who briefly escaped from a German POW camp in Poland in 1944. History, daring-do, and all the action of a war movie, sign me up!

*2. Blood Always Tells by Hilary Davidson. From Goodreads, “Hilary Davidson’s Blood Always Tells is a twisted tale of love, crime, and family gone wrong.” I love mysteries and thrillers, and this looks like it will be quite gripping!

3.  The Promgoer’s Interstellar Excursion by Chris McCoy, due to be published in April 2015. Imagine you’ve just managed to get your dream girl to agree to go to the prom with you. Now imagine that just moments later, she gets abducted by aliens. What do you do? Hitch a ride into outer space to get her back, of course! That’s the premise of this story from McCoy, who was named one of Indiewire’s top 10 screenwriters to watch out for in 2013.

*4. A Siege of Bitterns: A Birder Murder Mystery by Steve Burrows. It’s a British police procedural involving birding. I mean really, how could I not?

5. Clash of Eagles by Alan Smale, which was published this month. In a world where the Roman Empire never fell, a legion of Roman soldiers invades the newly-discover North American continent. Can I just say, I LOVE alternate history? I am SO excited for this one.

6. Playing With Matches by Suri Rosen called to me on a personal level, as it is about a 16 year old girl navigating a tight-knit Jewish community. This is Rosen’s first book, but hopefully not her last.

7. Let Me Tell You: New Stories, Essays, and Other Writing by Shirley Jackson, which will be published in July 2015. At the Penguin booth, we were told we could choose three ARCs each, and there were so many to choose from that I got a bit overwhelmed – until I saw this! Super excited to discover some new stories from an old favourite.

8. Mars Evacuees by Sophia McDougall. I picked this one up as part of a Blind Date with a Book display, which I’ve always been a bit skeptical of, to be honest. The premise sounds quite interesting though!

9. Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis, which will be published this coming April. From Goodreads, “a bet between the gods Hermes and Apollo leads them to grant human consciousness and language to a group of dogs overnighting at a Toronto vet­erinary clinic.” Alexis has won the Trillium prize and been shortlisted for the Giller prize, so I have high expectations of this one.

10. Pirate Hunters: Treasure, Obsession, and the Search for a Legendary Pirate Ship by Robert Kurson, which will be published in June 2015. This is the story of two men who set out to find pirate Joseph Bannister’s ship Golden Fleece. Okay, so shameful confession: I can’t swim very well (read: at all) – but I love marine stories. I devour Clive Cussler novels like some people devour french fries. When I discovered that the TV program The Sea Hunters was being shown on a local channel at 11am, I made sure I watched it every day. What I’m saying is, this book sounds awesome.

And that is my Top Ten list for this Tuesday! What books have you recently added to your TBR list?

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

