The TBR Double Dog Dare

jamesreadsbooks dot com slash tbr-dare

Every year for the past 3 or 4, I have participated in a TBR reading challenge hosted by James over at James Reads Books called the TBR Double Dog Dare. It runs from January 1 to April 1 of each year and the challenge is to read only your TBRs. Most of those who participate amend it to suit their needs, I always let myself off the hook for books that I have to read for school.

This year, I read 16 books between New Year’s Day and April 1, 2015. Not my best, but I’ve been in my very last semester of school, so finding time (and more importantly, energy) to read for pleasure was sadly often low on the priority list.

A few fun statistics about the 16 books I read:
9 were by men, 5 were by women, and 2 were short story anthologies featuring both.
I read 4600 pages in total.
One book was a gift, one was purchased new by myself, one was an ARC, one was borrowed, and the rest were all purchased second-hand.
The oldest book dates back to 1766, Oliver Goldsmith’s The Vicar 0f Wakefield though my edition is slightly newer, from 1961. The newest was the ARC for Sam Magg’s The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy, which will be published later this year.
7 were non-fiction, 9 were fiction. Of the fiction, it was a pretty even split between fantasy, mystery, and historical fic. The non-fiction was all over the place, from arts to zoology.I kept 7 books, returned one to it’s actual owner, and the rest are in my box of stuff for a planned garage sale in the summer.

James has said he’s not sure if he’ll be hosting the challenge again next year, but I certainly hope so. If not, I will still endeavour to do it myself, because it’s a great opportunity to whittle down my TBR shelves!

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

