Book Tag: A-Z

Hey look, it’s another book tag from Erika over at Erika the Bibliophile! She got it from The Perpetual Page-Turner, which is a great blog name.

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Clive Cussler. I’ve probably read about 50 of his books, and he’s written maybe 70 or 75.

Best Sequel Ever:

The Lord of the Rings was technically meant to be a sequel to The Hobbit, so it counts!

Currently Reading:

I’m in the middle of about half a dozen books, it’s kind of a problem.

  • The Company of the Dead – David J Kowalski
  • Underground: The Tokyo Gas Attack and the Japanese Psyche – Haruki Murakami
  • Inside of a Dog – Alexandra Horowitz
  • Where Troy Once Stood – Iman Wilkens
  • The Story of English – Robert Macneil
  • One for the Books – Joe Queenan

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Whatever is on hand, for the most part. Water and tea are my go-to drinks, I don’t drink much else.

Ereader or Physical Book?

E-readers absolutely have their place, especially when travelling long distances, but I personally prefer physical books.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

I’d like to be able to say someone noble and good, like Ron Weasley, but given what I was actually like in high school, I’d probably have gone for Cormac McLaggen! Yikes.

tumblr_nnh9df8JcA1qap39bo4_250

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I don’t generally read YA and I especially don’t generally read “rom-com” type books, but I received an ARC last year and finally read it this year, and it was great! I look forward to the second book.

Hidden Gem Book:

All books are gems!

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

Joining the Ottawa Public Library in 2010. I lived in Montreal for 10 years, and they haven’t got the most wonderful free English library options. Having easy and immediate access to the library again definitely jumpstarted my reading life again!

Just Finished:

I’m currently listening to an audiobook of Underground by Haruki Murakami and there’s only about half an hour left to it, so I’ll say that!

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

I try not to paint entire genres with one brush but there are definitely genres I’m more likely to ignore than others. I’m not generally a fan of paranormal romance, and I tend to roll my eyes at self-help books.

Longest  Book You’ve Read:

I suppose maybe It by Stephen King, which is somewhere around 1100 pages.

Major book hangover because of:

I’ve only experienced book hangovers once or twice. The one that still, a few years later, really sticks in my mind, is the way I felt when I finished The Collector, by John Fowles. I couldn’t pick up another book for nearly a week after!

Number of Bookcases You Own:

There are 15 bookcases scattered throughout the house. 5 are dedicated to my books, and another 4 hold at least some books that belong to me.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

White Oleander by Janet Fitch. I discovered it when I was 15, and I think I read it about twice a year for at least 3 or 4 years after.

Preferred Place To Read:

Anywhere that my butt can comfortably sit! I quite like reading on the bus, and in the tub, and really anywhere!

Uninterested Hermione

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“Her absence is like the sky, spread over everything.

But no, that is not quite accurate. There is one place where her absence comes locally home to me, and it is a place I can’t avoid. I mean my own body. It had such a different importance while it was the body of H.’s lover. Now it’s like an empty house.”

From A Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis

Reading Regret:

I try very hard not to regret things. I don’t always succeed! I regret time wasted forcing myself to finish books I didn’t like. Now, I follow Nancy Pearl’s suggestion – if a book hasn’t gripped me by 50-odd pages, move on!

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

Ahhh, complete series. What beautiful things. The only one that comes to mind is the comic book series Y: The Last Man by Brian K. Vaughan and Pia Guerra. Most of the series I’m reading are ongoing, like A Song of Ice and Fire.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Ok, but I’m only doing this with the understanding that all books are my favourite books and this is a terribly hard choice to make!

1. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien
2. The Favourite Game by Leonard Cohen
3. Magic for Marigold by LM Montgomery

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

The existence of books and the very act of reading itself!

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Those Girls by Chevy Stevens. I’ve read all of her books and she keeps me up at night with her thrillers!

Worst Bookish Habit:

Dog-earing library books. It’s horrible and I ought not do it!

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

Your latest book purchase:

I found a copy of The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier at a garage sale last week. I’ve read a few of her books and quite enjoyed them, so I look forward to this one! It was part of 3 books for $5, so a good deal all around.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Playing Dead by Julia Heaberlin. I finished it at about 1:30am this morning after starting it last night. It was FANTASTIC. I had a very good idea of Tommie’s true parentage early on, but literally everything else that happened were twists that I did not see coming, and that’s not something that often happens to me!!

Read this survey and want to do it yourself? Go forth!

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

