The Courtship Book Tag

Joey over at Thoughts and Afterthoughts tagged whoever wanted to do this to go ahead, and I like tags, so here I am!

The Phases of Courtship

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover

Well, I am very picky about the books I actually purchase, so a lot of thought goes into it, but I can tell you a book that I added to my TBR list recently based entirely on how much I loved the cover is Volition by Lily Paradis. The blurb sounds great, and I only stopped to look up the blurb because of the cover, so here it is! I love the feeling of melancholy that the cover portrays. I immediately wanted to know what was happening in those pages.

24307444

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary

Again, I haven’t purchased it yet, but it is on my TBR list – The Three by Sarah Lotz. Read that summary and tell me it doesn’t immediately grip you with curiousity!

18453110

Four simultaneous plane crashes. Three child survivors. A religious fanatic who insists the three are harbingers of the apocalypse. What if he’s right?

The world is stunned when four commuter planes crash within hours of each other on different continents. Facing global panic, officials are under pressure to find the causes. With terrorist attacks and environmental factors ruled out, there doesn’t appear to be a correlation between the crashes, except that in three of the four air disasters a child survivor is found in the wreckage.

Dubbed ‘The Three’ by the international press, the children all exhibit disturbing behavioural problems, presumably caused by the horror they lived through and the unrelenting press attention. This attention becomes more than just intrusive when a rapture cult led by a charismatic evangelical minister insists that the survivors are three of the four harbingers of the apocalypse. The Three are forced to go into hiding, but as the children’s behaviour becomes increasingly disturbing, even their guardians begin to question their miraculous survival…

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing

Um, all of them?! Okay, we all know that isn’t true, but I had to think about this one for a moment or two! I’m going to go with By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept by Elizabeth Smart. (The Canadian writer, NOT the kidnapping survivor!) Her writing is lush, it’s evocative, it’s just incredible.

48986

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pursue the rest of the series

9580144

Sanctus by Simon Toyne. It’s an apocalyptic conspiracy thriller of the highest imaginable order, and as soon as I finished it, I bought the second and third books in the trilogy. Of course, other books then got in the way and now it’s three years later and I need to reread Sanctus before I read the others, but I am quite confident it will be as explosive as I remember!

Phase 5 – Late night phone calls: A book that kept you up all night long

Plenty of books do that, but the most recent to do so was Playing Dead by Julia Heaberlin. I just couldn’t put it down, I was turning pages as fast as I could read them. The story wasn’t the most original or spellbinding, but combined with the writing style, it was compelling enough that I needed to know what happened next RIGHT THAT VERY MOMENT.

18939112

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book that you could not stop thinking about

This is going back a few years, but the first (and still only) time I read The Collector by John Fowles, I could not stop thinking about it for weeks afterwards, and it still sometimes pops into my head. It was creepy, it was perturbing, it was truly terrifying, and it was utterly brilliant!

7181609

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book in which you love the way it feels

Ah, the ever important tactile sense. A book must feel good, to be good! Nothing is worse than trying to comfortably read a book that is too stiff, with pages that don’t turn naturally, or feel too hard under the fingers. Most of my books are loved to the point that they fall open in that perfect manner. My copy of Mirage by Matt Ruff has the most delightfully textured cover, with pages that feel perfectly soft and eminently readable.

12067161

Phase 8 – Meeting the Parents: A book in which you would recommend to your friends and family

I try very hard to tailor recommendations to what I know about a person, but there is one book that I try to force nearly everybody I know to read, with varying degrees of success.

1256289

Bachelor Brother’s Bed and Breakfast by Bill Richardson is funny, it’s witty, it’s charming, it’s every folksy adjective you can think of. It’s about the goings on at a cozy bed and breakfast run by fraternal twin brothers, the kind of B&B where you go when you need a vacation just to catch up on your reading. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read and if you read it, it will become one of the best you’ve ever read as well!

Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series that you know you’ll re-read many times in the future

My go-to comfort books are the Dirk Pitt series of novels by Clive Cussler. They aren’t especially good and they aren’t especially bad, they’re just especially familiar.

Phase 10 – Share the love!!! Who would you like to tag?

Anyone who is reading this! I don’t know if I have any readers or if I’m just hollering into the ether, so PLEASE, if you’ve read this and are going to do the tag, let me know! If you’ve read this and aren’t going to do the tag, please still let me know!

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

