Ninja Bookswap, Autumn 2015 edition

This fall is my third time participating in the Ninja Bookswap – and they just keep getting more and more awesome!! I had the pleasure of sending parcels to the UK and Macedonia, a country I knew very little about until a bit of Google-fu. Holy hannah, it’s beautiful!

I received both of my parcels last week in separate pieces, as my swappers chose to purchase the books on Amazon. This was great, because it meant I kept getting more fun stuff in the mail! It was a good farewell to our mail system, which is switching very soon to community postboxes. No more delivery to the door, no more *clomp, clomp, creak of metal, ping* to send Mollie the dog into a fit of MUST DEFEND HOUSE AT ALL COSTS!

My first package came courtesy of the lovely Heather over at Based on a True Story.

IMAG1250 IMAG1261

I’d included dogs as an interest in my sign-up, so I got a cute notepad that says “Get your wag on!” and a truly sizeable totebag covered in images of vintage advertisements with dogs in them. It is the perfect size for carting home Mollie’s kibble!! I also got a beautiful bookmark and a sweet card. The two books I got were The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier, and the Oh She Glows cookbook.

I love Tracy Chevalier’s writing, and even got to ask her a question recently thanks to Goodreads – and she replied! It was a very exciting moment for me. I have not yet read The Last Runaway, so I am super excited! As for Oh She Glows, I’ve been a fan of Angela Liddon for a number of years, since discovering her recipe for Carrot Cake Oatmeal. I’m not sure I can adequately explain how excited I was to see this book when I opened my parcel, so I’ll let a photo explain. (the following is an approximate reenactment.)

WIN_20151017_094530

Yup, that’s about right!

The second package – o, you sneaky Ninja Swap Overlords! – came to me from a fellow Ottawan!

IMAG1262

Debbie’s two books were Jane Vows Vengeance by Michael Thomas Ford and You Had Me at Woof: How Dogs Taught Me the Secrets of Happiness by Julie Klam. Jane Vows Vengeance is the final book in the hilarious Jane Fairfax trilogy, which imagines Jane Austen living in 21st century America, trying to hide the fact that she is in point of fact Jane Austen, and oh, did I mention, she’s a vampire? I discovered the books quite at random at the library a couple of years ago and I am thrilled to own my own copy of one of them now! You Had Me at Woof had me at “memoir involving dogs”, and I can’t wait to read it. Plus, that cover? So freaking cute. Debbie’s gift, which I do not have a photo of, was a gift card to DavidsTea, which is SO awesome because I love tea, and I love drinking tea while reading, and I think I’m going to use it to buy some tea to keep on my desk next to my mug and jar of cocoa powder.

Once again, the Ninja Bookswap has been a success, and I am one happy girl!

I am (in theory) going to be back later this weekend with a book review of the Giller Prize shortlisted book Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis!

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

