2015 Reading Wrap-Up

Jamie over at The Perpetual Page-Turner has created a great end-of-year survey which I am filling out. Her post has some beautiful graphics but I am going to be lazy and not include them. Check them out though!

2015 Reading Stats:

Number Of Books You Read: 141
Number of Re-Reads: Only 1! I love the idea of re-reading but rarely do it, because there are so many books out there I still haven’t read!
Genre You Read The Most From: Toss up between general non-fic and literary fiction.

Best in Books

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

I rated 10 books at 5 stars on Goodreads in 2015. Narrowing it down to one each in fiction and non fiction, I would say the best I read were Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson and The Sabbath: Its Meaning for Modern Man by Rabbi Abraham Joshua Heschel.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

The five Faye Kellerman books I read. I remembered loving the Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus books when I was in high school, but I didn’t rate one of them higher than 3 stars and I think I was being generous there. It was a disappointing discovery, to be certain!

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

Cure for the Common Breakup by Beth Kendrick. I wrote about my love-hate relationship with “chick lit” and how Beth Kendrick was my new favourite thing earlier this year.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I don’t actually push books on people for the most part. I often pass on mysteries to my mum for her bus rides, and I will occasionally tell my husband if I think he’d like a book I’m reading, but that’s about it. Although, I did create an annotated list of books to read for my mother-in-law’s birthday, which she was really happy with!

5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

Best sequel would be A Clash of Kings, by George RR Martin. Best series I started, the Black Dog Bay series by Beth Kendrick. I didn’t read any series enders in  2015. I don’t actually read many series – nothing worse than getting invested and then not being able to find the next one!

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

Beth Kendrick. I also rediscovered Helen Humphreys and Zoe Whittall, both authors I’d read before but forgotten how much I enjoyed their work.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I don’t read a lot of YA, especially YA romance, but I really enjoyed The Chapel Wars by Lindsay Leavitt. It was funny and the characters all seemed to actually behave their age, which is something I really have trouble with in YA.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Playing Dead by Julia Heaberlin. I stayed up all night to finish this one, I loved it!

9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

As I said at the beginning, I am not really one for re-reading, so it’s not likely there will be any.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

The cover for Cure for the Common Breakup is what first drew it to me. I also love the cover for Terroryaki! by Jennifer K. Chung. I also quite like the cover of Sacre Bleu: A Comedy d’Art by Christopher Moore.

 

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Speaking of Sacre Bleu, Blue and the Colourman are certainly memorable!

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

In terms of language, the best of the year were The Sabbath by Heschel and A Single Man by Christopher Isherwood.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

Without a doubt, absolutely The Sabbath. It caused me to rethink a lot about how I approach my faith.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read?

Songs of Distant Earth by Arthur C. Clarke. It’s not that book specifically, but I really can’t believe I made it to this point in my life without reading any significant amount of Clarke! He’s an incredible writer.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

“I have no physical symptoms, but psychologically there’s this burden. I’ve got to get rid of it somehow. Of course, when I first went back to work I was scared the same thing might happen again. It takes positive thinking to overcome fear, otherwise you’ll carry around this victim mentality forever.”

A victim of the Tokyo Underground attacks on his post-traumatic disorder, from Underground: The Tokyo Gas Attack and the Japanese Psyche by Haruki Murakami.

16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

The longest was A Clash of Kings at 778 pages. The shortest was Norman, Speak! by Caroline Adderson which is a 32 page children’s book.

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

The Plague Dogs by Richard Adams. I finished it a week ago and I’m still thinking about it. I can’t really put into words what exactly it was that shocked me but it was just an incredible book that evoked a lot of emotions from me, including shock.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Erica Falck and Patrik Hedstrom from the Fjallbacka books by Camilla Lackberg. I love their dynamic and the way they support each other no matter what.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Rowf and Snitter in The Plague Dogs.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Buried Angels by Camilla Lackberg. I’ve read a handful of her Patrik Hedstrom books, and this one was my favourite so far.

21. Best Book You Read In 2015That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

At least half of the books I read come from recommendations! No one title is standing out to me, though.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

I remain faithful to my one true love, Sandor Clegane from A Song of Ice and Fire!

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

I’m glad you specify debut, because I read a number of great books published in 2015 but many of them were not debuts. A standout in the debut category is Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick, which is a gorgeously drawn children’s book about Mattick’s great-grandfather Harry Colebourn and the bear who would become Winnie the Pooh.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

George RR Martin has many failings as a writer, but one of his strengths is his worldbuilding. Westeros and the rest of his world are so elaborately created in words that I can imagine myself in every scenario he writes.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

As If! The Oral History of Clueless as told by Amy Heckerling and the Cast and Crew, by Jen Chaney. I wrote a review (it even has gifs!) when I first read it. Even just rereading my review is reminding me of how fun it was to read!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

The Plague Dogs by Richard Adams. There were definitely tears.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Terroryaki! – I picked it up based on it’s cover and it was hilarious. Plus, it informed me as to the existence of the annual international 3-day novel competition, which I am strongly considering signing up for next year.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Thankfully I can say none of the books I read in 2015 crushed my soul. I have no time for books that hurt!

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

I’m still not sure how to describe Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis!

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

There aren’t any books that made me mad. There were a few that left me disappointed, but no emotion as strong as anger.

I’m leaving out the section Jamie included about blogs, as by my own admission, I have not been super involved in blogging or participating in events in 2015. I *did* participate in a number of book swaps, which are always great fun, and I’m hoping that I can be a bit more present and active in 2016!

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

Another Jane Austen book. It’s not terribly important to me which one it is, but I have been averaging one a year and I still have a few to go!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

Tracy Chevalier has a new book out in 2016 – I don’t actually know anything about it, but I love her writing and therefore I am excited!

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I don’t know – I don’t follow a huge number of ARC-reviewers so I don’t know what all’s coming out in 2016.

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

Well, rumours have The Winds of Winter possibly coming out by year’s end, so there’s always that for anticipation!

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

I just want to be more active. I hope to blog more, participate in more challenges, etc.

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I haven’t read any 2016 releases yet!

Hope you all had a great 2015 and here is to a book-filled 2016!

 

 

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2015 Reading Wrap-Up

  1. Wow you read so many awesome books in 2015! That’s so awesome:) Great luck in 2016!

    Like

  2. Is Faye Kellerman the Cat Who…. or is she the Monday the Rabbi Got…. books? I read a couple of them many years ago, back when they first came out, I think, and enjoyed them but did not read more than one or two. Speaking of when it came out…..The Plague Dogs!!!! I did not think anybody still read that one. I read it when it came out because I loved Watership Down so much. I read Watership Down three times in a row when I was in sixth grade. I don’t remember liking The Plauge Dogs nearly as much, but I did read the whole thing. I’m glad to hear that you liked it so much.

    Like

    • sarscoff says:

      Kellerman writes about an LAPD cop named Peter Decker and his wife, Rina Lazarus, who are Orthodox Jews. Much like the Cat Who books though, once you’ve read a couple, you can pretty much predict how the rest will be!

      Watership Down is still on my long-term “maybe I will finally read it” list, especially now that I have read and loved Plague Dogs.

      Thanks for commenting!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

