January 2016

January was a good book month for me. It wasn’t good in just about any other regard, but I managed to completely finish 13 books!

As with every year, I have been participating in James’s TBR Triple Dog Dare.

tbr-final-dare

Not being in school any longer means I have not had to make any exceptions for myself, so all 13 of January’s books came off of my TBR bookcase.

Four were from the McClelland & Stewart New Canadian Library series, which every Canadian will recognize from their distinctive covers. I’m a personal fan of the fourth generation of covers, with their beigey spines and notable Canadian paintings on the front, though the second generation is more well known, with the sort of acid-trip colours and Rorschach designs.

I also finally read The Martian, by Andy Weir – I still haven’t seen the movie, as I am perpetually behind with these things, but it is absolutely on my to-do list. I don’t want to make any sweeping statements just yet as we’re only just into the second month of 2016, but I am quite certain this book will remain in my top 10 of the year!

There was quite a lot of Canadiana in January, as along with the four NCL titles, I also read The Blue Castle by L.M Montgomery, a Bill Richardson book about meeting eccentric Canadians from coast to coast, and a short book from the Amazing Stories line about early dinosaur hunters and palaeontologists in Canada.

Another publisher’s line that I am fond of is the New York Review of Books. I love their design, for one, and I’ve yet to pick up a book and not love it in some way. January saw me read Chess Story by Stefan Zweig and Nightmare Alley by William Lindsay Gresham. I have very mixed feelings about the second title, but they are strong feelings and therefore still mostly positive. The last line in the book gave me absolute chills!

Of course, as is my ongoing problem, despite moving 13 books off my TBR list, I added far more than 13 to it in January! Hopefully February will feature more reading and less buying!!

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 2016

  1. Wow, thirteen books in one month. I’m impressed!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

