A-Z Bookish Questions

I’m in a bit of a reading slump right now – I pick a book up, read a few pages, and nothing seems to want to click.

In the meantime, I thought it’d be fun to do a bookish survey! I found this one over at The Perpetual Page-Turner. It’s a few years old, but it was the first thing that popped up on Google so here you go!

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Clive Cussler – I have easily read 45 of his books. They’re formulaic as all get out but they’re fun and they’re easy, and I’ve been reading them since I was 11. I can’t stop now!

Best Sequel Ever:

I’m going to cheat here and say Lord of the Rings – I mean, it is technically a sequel to The Hobbit!

Currently Reading:

Nothing in particular. I am going to have to try and push through this slump though, it’s been two weeks now that I haven’t been able to settle on a book!

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Same as my drink of choice when I’m not reading – herbal tea.

E-reader or Physical Book?

I do vastly prefer physical books, but I won’t deny the convenience of an e-reader. I am hoping to get a new one soon, actually.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Oh dear. I was not one for good decisions in high school. Let’s go with Holden Caulfield. And I hate Catcher in the Rye, so that tells you something.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

The White Bone by Barbara Gowdy. It’s the last book I finished and it was completely beyond what I was expecting and I really enjoyed it.

Hidden Gem Book:

The Lost Salt Gift of Blood by Alistair MacLeod. I picked it up on a whim and it blew me away.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

I suppose when I first began reading on my own. I’m not sure when that was, I feel like I’ve just always been reading. Oh dear, that’s a bit of a cop-out answer though, isn’t it?

Just Finished:

The last book I finished was The White Bone.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

I just can’t even remotely find it in me to try contemporary paranormal romance. I’m sorry. I also don’t like self-help books very much.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin, at 1177 pages.

Major book hangover because of:

The one that still sticks out to me six years later is The Collector by John Fowles. I could not stop thinking about that book for weeks after I finished it.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Five that contain just my books. There are another two that are shared between my husband and I, and then he has a few more of his own.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

The Hobbit. I think I have read it half a dozen times perhaps, and I’m not much for rereading.

Preferred Place To Read:

I actually really enjoy reading on a long bus ride!

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“Your truth may not look like mine, but that is not what matters. What matters is this: You can look at a scar and see hurt, or you can look at a scar and see healing.”

A Gracious Plenty, by Sheri Reynolds.

Reading Regret:

Oh gosh, I am not sure! I try not to have regrets. Possibly all the books I never read.

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):

The Sancti Trilogy by Simon Toyne. I picked up the first one on a whim and loved it, so I picked up the second and third. Unfortunately I read the first book about 5 years ago at this point so I may need to reread it first!

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

The Hobbit. Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman. He, She, and It, by Marge Piercy.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Chevy Stevens. I LOVE her books. They’re twisty and clever and take place in the region I grew up in.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Chevy Steven’s newest, which is being published NEXT WEEK!

Worst Bookish Habit:

Dog-earing pages. I will try to appease your sensibilities by clarifying that I never do it to books that are not mine!! And it’s not like I don’t have bookmarks – I do! I just…always seem to find myself dog-earing.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood. Truly a book for our times.

Your latest book purchase:

War Hawk, by James Rollins. I love his Sigma series and I enjoyed Tucker and Kane’s appearances there so I am excited for their continued adventures.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

I’m not sure. I’m often kept up past by bedtime by fan-fiction, though!

 

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

