Drastic Decisions

I’m thinking about making a drastic decision. I’m talking a big, burn it all and start again kind of decision.

Gandalf

I’m thinking about slashing my TBR list into ribbons and getting rid of 90% of my unread library.

DW You've Got to be Kidding

Here’s the thing.

It doesn’t bring me joy. I look at it and I feel stress about all the books I want to read and haven’t yet. I flip through my notebook of titles and think about how I’ll never read them all because I add titles to it faster than I cross them out.

I’m not sure if I’ll follow through with this but it’s sorely tempting. I would absolutely set some ground rules for keeps. I’d keep books recommended to me by specific people whose tastes I know I can trust. I’d keep books by authors I know I love and want to read. All the other books, though? The ones I picked up on a whim because it sounded interesting? I’m not sure I’d miss them if they were gone. I don’t know that I’d say to myself “hey what about that one book about the thing? why didn’t I keep that one?”

There’s a lot of food for thought in this decision. I’ll keep you updated on my choice!

About sarscoff

Late 20's, Canadian, library technician, wife, dog mama, reader of all things written.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

